Cooking Slow with: Slow Cooker BBQ Brisket


I’ve been a bad blogger lately, I know. I’ve done my part in the kitchen, but getting the camera out has been the challenge. The last few months have been a whirlwind…with special occasion after special occasion. After Easter there was my sisters birthday, then Mother’s Day, then my dad’s birthday, then my best friends bridal shower and Father’s Day.

Of course I volunteered to cook or bake for every single event, and I tend to get carried away. I like options. I like selection. I like to cook so there is something for everyone, no matter their taste. So when I have a dinner party, it’s not unusual for me to serve three or four main courses and five different side dishes–food occupying every inch of counter space–some dishes forced to remain on the stove top.

And I like to make everything from scratch. I know I don’t have to roast potatoes for 30 minutes when I could just boil them for 10 minutes to make potato salad. I know I don’t have to make my own whipped cream, and I certainly don’t have to make it with fresh, hand-picked-by-me-that-day strawberries. And I know I don’t have to make my own barbeque sauce from scratch, but I do, because it makes each dish taste extra special, and I feel good about what I’m serving my guests.

With summer upon us, I’ve been craving lots of barbequed meat. Steak, burgers, sausage, pork tenderloin and brisket. I’ve been eager to make brisket because it’s an easy and delicious way to feed a crowd.  So Father’s Day I decided to experiment and make my first brisket in the slow cooker, and finished it off on the grill. We don’t have a smoker, otherwise I would have gone that route. It was a huge hit with the family, and basically effortless to make! Looks like brisket will be on the menu again this weekend for Novin’s birthday barbeque. This time, BBQ Brisket sandwiches with horseradish. Stay tuned!

Slow Cooker ‘BBQ’ Brisket

Serves approximately 4-8

Ingredients

About 2 cups of your favorite BBQ sauce for cooking, plus extra for serving (The homemade recipe I like to use makes plenty: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/big-als-kc-bar-b-q-sauce/)

2 15 oz. cans of beef broth

2 T worcestershire sauce

3.5 pound brisket

About 2 T of your favorite steak seasoning (I used McCormick’s Montreal Steak Seasoning)

2 tsp. garlic powder

2 tsp. chili powder

salt and pepper to taste

Put brisket in slow cooker (fat side up), like so:

Salt and pepper on both sides. Mix spices together in a small bowl, and rub onto both sides of meat.

Pour worcestershire sauce over brisket, and the 2 cups BBQ sauce.

Marinate brisket overnight.

The next evening before cooking, add beef broth, making sure the meat is completely covered by liquid.

Turn the slow cooker on low and cook for 12 hours, overnight. If you want, grill the brisket on each side for a minute and a half on each side for extra flavor. Don’t grill any longer because it will dry the meat out. (I marinated the brisket on Friday night, then started the slow cooker at 11 p.m. on Saturday, and it was perfect for Father’s Day lunch on Sunday. It takes some planning in advance, but it’s worth it!)

Slice brisket against the grain. Brush with extra BBQ sauce and serve!

Enjoy!

3 responses

Leave a Reply

