What to do with 25 lbs. of grits? Spicy Stewed Beef and Cheddar Grits


I recently inherited this baby:

No, that is not a Costco bag of dog food. It is a 25-pound bag of Bob’s Red Mill corn grits that has been sitting behind my office desk for about a month now.

Why would I have grits in my office, you ask?

Well, I work for a nonprofit that promotes Oregon agriculture, and every year we have a dinner and auction to raise money for the organization. Local businesses donate food products that we use to prepare the four-course meal for the evening, and I usually inherit the leftovers. So, Mr. Bag of Corn Grits needed a home, and I agreed to take him in. He had to sit behind my desk for awhile while I thought about what to do with him. He’s pretty heavy, and I didn’t want to do any unnecessary lifting.

So the other day I finally found a recipe worthy of moving Mr. Grits out of my office and into my kitchen: Spicy Stewed Beef with Creamy Cheddar Grits. I stumbled across it on The Pioneer Woman blog, and after one look at the photo, I immediately grabbed my keys and headed out the door to shop for ingredients (minus the grits, of course).

It had all the elements for a perfect dinner on a rainy, dreary night. Spicy and warm? Mandatory. Creamy? Yes please. Filling? Absolutely.

Now that I’ve made Spicy Stewed Beef with Creamy Cheddar Grits, I am very happy that I have 24.6 pounds of grits left to use. You will likely be seeing lots of grit-related recipes on my blog from here on out…

I’m open to suggestions for recipes for all things grits–besides cornbread. Please, please, oh please send me some suggestions!

Or maybe just forward me your mailing address so I can ship some to you. Shipping costs not included. 😉

Spicy Stewed Beef with Creamy Cheddar Grits

Recipe adapted from: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2012/01/spicy-stewed-beef-with-creamy-cheddar-grits/

Makes about 4 servings

Beef Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon Canola Oil

1 Tablespoon Butter (I used Smart Balance)

1 to 2 pounds Diced Chuck Roast

1 small can Chipotle Peppers In Adobo Sauce (It WILL be spicy!)

2 to 4 15-oz cans of Low-sodium Beef Broth (Depending on how saucy you want it. I used two cans plus a little extra)

5 cloves Minced Garlic

2 tsp. Cumin

1 teaspoon Chili Powder

Grits Ingredients:

2 T butter or canola oil

1/2 of a small Onion, finely diced

1 whole Red Bell Pepper

1 to 2 whole Chilies (any Variety, Hot Or Mild)

1 cup Bob’s Red Mill corn grits/polenta

1 1/2 cups Low Sodium Chicken (or Beef) Broth

1 1/2 to 2 1/2 cups Water

1/4 cups Half-and-half (I used soy milk since I can’t have dairy, works just fine!)

1/2 cup Grated Cheddar Cheese (I used Daiya vegan cheese, which works just fine too!)

fresh cracked pepper to taste

Spicy Stewed Beef Instructions:

Heat 1 tablespoon oil and 1 tablespoon butter in a large pot over high heat. Throw in stew meat and brown for a few minutes.

Add chipotle peppers, beef broth, garlic, cumin, and chili powder. Stir, then bring to a boil.

chipotle peppers in adobo sauce

 Reduce the heat to low, then cover and simmer for 1 to 2 hours, or until the meat is fall-apart tender and the liquid is thick. (Watch the meat occasionally and add more beef broth or water as needed.)

Grits Instructions:

Heat oil/butter in a pot over medium heat. Add diced onion, bell pepper, and chilies and cook for a few minutes or so.

Pour in grits, then add chicken (or beef) broth and water.

Stir, then bring to a boil . Reduce the heat to low, then cover and cook for about 10 to 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add half-and-half. Continue to cook and stir until grits are tender.

Remove from heat and stir in grated cheese.

Serve pile of grits with stewed meat (liquid and all) over the top.

Enjoy!

2 responses

  1. I let it simmer for two hours covered and then simmered uncovered for an hour for it to properly reduce the liquid and get it thick like a chili. 3 hours was perfect, the meat was practically falling apart. yum!! The grits were so tasty too and so forgiving. I added a little more cheese though and it made it even better IMO. 🙂 Definitely will be making this again in the future and even made more grits this morning since we ran out last night. yum yumm!!

Leave a Reply

