Spicy Pulled BBQ Chicken (Slow Cooker) Sandwiches


I know, another spicy recipe. But spicy food is just so satisfying! Now that summer is nothing but a distant memory, I find myself longing for warming foods to bring me back to better days. Even though this pulled chicken is made indoors in a slow cooker, it reminds me of the good ole’ days–when I could leave work at 5 p.m. and still see sunlight, running outside inhaling fresh air, enjoying evening after-dinner strolls with a mojito in hand, barbeques, and fun.

Instead, last night I ran like a gerbil on the treadmill for an hour, drove home in the dark and pouring rain, cozied up on the couch next to the fireplace in my sweatpants purgatory and enjoyed my hot, spicy sandwich–then capped off the night with dark chocolate chips out of the bag. If all my nights can end with a comforting meal like this one this season–bring it on, winter! I’m ready for you.

Ingredients

Big Al’s K.C. BBQ Sauce, recipe here: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/big-als-kc-bar-b-q-sauce/detail.aspx (or a bottle of your favorite BBQ sauce)

1 pound boneless chicken thighs

1/2 onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1-2 tsp cayenne pepper

1 tsp chili powder

1-2 tsp hot pepper sauce (like Tabasco)

pickled banana peppers

sliced tomato

1 tsp liquid smoke

your favorite sandwich bread/buns (I used Novin’s delicious whole wheat homemade bread)

salt and pepper to taste

 

Instructions:

Throw chopped onion, garlic, chicken and BBQ sauce in a slow cooker. You can use any kind of BBQ sauce that you like best, but I prefer homemade. Make sure there is enough sauce to fully submerge chicken. Cook until the meat easily falls apart when poked with a fork, about 6-8 hours on low or 4-5 hours on high. The last 1/2 hour of cooking, add cayenne, chili powder, hot pepper sauce and liquid smoke. Take chicken out of slow cooker and shred on a plate with two forks.

The chicken should be so tender that shredding it is effortless.

 

Mix in some of the sauce from the slow cooker. Put desired amount of chicken on a toasted bun, and top with tomato, pickled banana peppers, cheese, lettuce or any of your favorite toppings. Goes great with my baked potato chips recipe, sauteed brussels sprouts and a few gherkins.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response

Leave a Reply

