Spicing up Monday with Spiced Oat Bran Muffins


Happy Monday!

Not.

These are my least favorite words to hear each week, and should you ever say them to me, I will likely hate you (Especially this particular Monday, because I watched Paranormal Activity last night and ended up awake all night in fear that demons were going to get me).

Today also happens to be Halloween, a day that is supposed to be filled with excitement and lots of candy. Halloween=exciting, Monday=not. Monday + Halloween=fun? I’m not certain that sort of equation is possible.

In an effort to sort of meld the two together and make Monday=fun and exciting, I coordinated a day of good eats with my coworker. She agreed to make a chicken tortilla soup for us to share at lunch, and I agreed to bring the homemade bread, a salad with as many toppings as possible to up the “exciting” factor, and spiced oat bran muffins for breakfast.

I chose to make oat bran muffins because 1. They’re healthy and will cancel out the loads of candy I’ll likely eat tonight, and 2. Novin bought about 1oo pounds of oat bran and decided after about a week that he didn’t like it anymore. (Novin, maybe it’s because you eat it dry out of a plastic beer mug as you’re driving to work and inhale the flakes by accident? Just a guess…)

It’s still too early in the day to tell how this Monday will pan out, and I’m not sure the muffins alone can save the day, but if nothing else–at least I had a good breakfast.

Can you even find the muffin on my desk of shame?

Ingredients

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup honey

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup white flour (I used bread flour, but all-purpose flour should work fine)

1 1/2 cups oat bran

2 tsp baking flour

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg

1 cup applesauce

4 T canola oil

1 tsp cinnamon

1 1/2 tsp ground ginger

1 1/2 tsp ground orange peel

1/4 tsp ground clove

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/2 cup soy milk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a large bowl, add dry ingredients and spices. Mix together well. Then add honey, egg, applesauce, vegetable oil and soy milk and mix until well blended.

Line a muffin tin with muffin cups, and spray with non-stick. Fill muffin cups 2/3 of the way full with batter and bake for 15 minutes or until cooked through and golden brown.

Serve with a smear of honey, your favorite jam, nut or pumpkin butter or just plain. Enjoy!




Leave a Reply

