Steak Fajitas taste like Kraft Handi-Snacks? Call me crazy!


Housewarming party menu…continued…featuring my friend PJ as guest chef for this recipe…

Do you remember those plastic packets of crackers and highly processed cheese that you used to eat as a kid? You know the ones, with the little red stick to scoop up the said “cheese”? I believe they’re called Handi-Snacks.

Handi-Snacks!

I don’t know if it’s just me, but these steak fajitas taste like that cheese. And I mean that in a wonderful, delicious way, the taste nostalgically bringing me back to elementary school. I know it sounds crazy to say that marinated steak tastes just like fake cheese, but please give it a try and tell me if I’m right. If it doesn’t, well I promise it’s delicious anyway. There’s a good chance that I’m just cheese-deprived due to my allergy of milk products, and hallucinating the taste. Or it could be the fact that I haven’t had a Handi-Snack in at least 15 years. Ultimately, you can be the judge.

Fawkes wants to be the taste tester...

Steak marinade

2 pounds flank steak

4 to 6 cloves garlic

1 T paprika

1 to 2 T cayenne

3 T olive oil

1/3 cup water

1 T kosher salt

1 to 2 T liquid smoke (a few glugs of it says PJ)

3 juiced limes

1/2 T pepper

1 T light soy sauce

1 to 2 T worcestershire sauce

Fajita veggies

A few red/green/yellow/orange bell peppers, sliced thin

1-2 onions, thinly sliced

1-2 jalapenos, thinly sliced

drizzle olive oil

Put all marinade ingredients in a large ziplock bag and marinate overnight. Let meat come to room temperature before grilling.  This will ensure more even cooking. Grill meat to desired doneness (we prefer medium or medium rare). This will depend on the thickness of the meat and cooking ability of the grill.

PJ’s technique: I just keep poking the meat with my finger, until it feels done (feels medium-rareish). If it feels like pushing on your cheek, it’s rare or raw. If it’s like pushing on a desk or dense foam rubber, it’s well done.  If it’s somewhat soft, like pushing on the front of your chin, then it’s medium rare.

When cooked to desired doneness, take the meat off grill and let it rest for about 5-10 minutes before slicing against the grain.

While meat is resting, saute onions in pan with olive oil over medium-high heat until soft. Add bell peppers and jalapeno and saute until they just begin to soften but are not mushy.  Serve with sliced steak pieces, tortillas and guacamole, or the Spanish rice coming soon in my next blog….stay tuned.

One response

Leave a Reply

