Pineapple Pie


Not picture perfect, but tasty nonetheless...

Last month Novin and I had dinner at my grandpa’s house, and he said he had a special pie for us for dessert. My first thoughts: “OoOoooOoooh!”

As a sweet-o-holic, I wanted to know what it was right away. “It’s a surprise,” he said. “I’ve never bought a pie like this before; it’s really different,” my grandpa said.

Since he was never known to be the most adventurous eater, I took a stab at guessing. “Sweet potato? Mango? Chocolate peanut butter crème?! It better not have milk in it, I’m allergic! If it does and I can’t eat it, I just might die!” The suspense was killing me.

So after we finished our last bites of chicken sausage and potato pancakes, he brought out this “surprise pie.”

I took one look at it…it was an apple pie. “Grandpa, you mean to tell me you’ve never bought an APPLE PIE before?” His face went blank. “Huh?!”

The label idiotically said “Pie apple,” which he misread as “Pineapple.” Who labels it as “Pie apple” instead of “Apple pie”? C’mon, Fred Meyer! Why did you have to confuse my poor old grandpa and make us all have to settle for apple pie when we were expecting an amazingly special pie? So of course I ate double servings of the apple pie in hopes that eating MORE of it would make me more satisfied with it. Yes, that is how my logic works. Don’t get me wrong, I like apple pie, but store-bought apple pie just doesn’t do it for me.

So my grandpa was disappointed, and I was determined to make things right. I promised to make him a pineapple pie for his birthday, which is exactly what I did.

I was apprehensive at first…the last thing I wanted was a pie full of soggy pineapple slices. So I went online in search of a good pineapple pie filling, and stumbled across a blog called “Stay @ Home Mom.”

http://sahmsite.info/2010/03/29/homemade-pineapple-pie-filling/

I followed her recipe, but tweaked the sugar and butter amounts:

Homemade Pineapple Pie Filling

1 fresh pineapple

1/3 cup sugar

2 T butter

½ cup water

2 T cornstarch

pinch of salt

Slice pineapple into small chunks. Puree ½ of the pineapple in a blender. Strain out some of the juice so the filling doesn’t become too runny. In a pot over medium-high heat, stir pineapple chunks and puree. Add sugar and salt. Mix cornstarch and water together well, making sure there are no clumps. Add to pineapple mixture, and bring to a boil. Turn down heat and simmer until filling resembles a jam.

2 Crust Pie Dough:

2 1/2 cups flour

2 sticks COLD butter (1 pound, yuck, I know! Shhh don’t tell anyone, this is what makes it GOOD)

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp salt

6-8 T ice water

In a large bowl, mix flour, salt and sugar. Cut cold butter into chunks, and add to flour mixture. Using hands, mix butter into dough, until it begins to clump. Make sure to leave small chunks of butter in the dough, so the dough will become flaky. Begin adding water tablespoon by tablespoon, mixing by hand as you go, just until you can pinch some of the dough together and it sticks. You may or may not have to use all of the water. Form dough into a ball (it should still feel a bit crumbly, not super sticky or smooth) and refrigerate in a bowl covered with plastic wrap for 30 minutes to an hour. You want the butter chunks in the dough to be nice and cold when you roll it out later, again– for that flaky crust! Split ball of dough in half, and roll out each dough on a floured surface for a 9″ 2-crust pie. Trim edges, and dust with white sugar for a shimmery top crust. Cut slits in the top crust (or cut fun shapes) so steam can escape.

Bake pie at 350 degrees for about 20-30 minutes or until a light golden brown.

Try it out and let me know if you like it! Grandpa did.

Our camera battery died right before we were about to cut into it, so I didn’t get better pictures. 😦
Leave a Reply

