KitchenAid mixer test run…with Breakfast Zucchini Bread


My birthday present from my boyfriend

Tomorrow is my 25th birthday, but my boyfriend (Novin) decided to give me my present a week early. I opened it with excitement, knowing full well it was a KitchenAid mixer–he’s so predictable (Just kidding, baby!).

There it was, shiny, lime green and beautiful, just as I had imagined it. We immediately brought it downstairs, plugged that baby in, and–nothing but a disappointing grinding sound. The beaters would not spin (I guess that’s my punishment for opening my present early). After Novin made a few annoying calls to KitchenAid and a late-night trip to Macy’s, I now have a working mixer just in time for my birthday.

Naturally, after purchasing a brand new, $200+ mixer that didn’t work, Novin now has doubts about the quality of the mixer. (At least it’s pretty!) He keeps stressing that I “need” to follow the manual and “must NOT” exceed the power levels indicated in the manual or it will, in fact, exhaust the motor and break. So, I’ve decided to test out Mixey with something easy, to strengthen his muscles so one day soon, he should be prepared to mix thick bread doughs and pizza crusts. You can do it, Mixey!

Novin walks in the door just as I’m getting started, and begins consulting “the manual.” “Don’t go past speed 6,” he says. Awww…poo.

Since I’m up to my eyeballs in zucchini from our garden, and I somehow inherited human head-sized zucchini from my grandfather’s garden, I thought a zucchini bread recipe would be appropriate for my first blog.

This zucchini bread is great for breakfast since it contains flax seeds and wheat bran to keep you going through the morning. You can also add pecans or walnuts for protein. This recipe contains half the amount of oil of a typical zucchini bread, replaced with applesauce.

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup wheat bran
  • 1/2 cup ground flax seeds
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1 1/2 cups raw cane sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups grated zucchini
Directions
  1. Generously spray two 8 x 4 inch pans with non-stick spray. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  2. Sift flour, wheat bran, salt, baking powder, soda, and cinnamon together in a bowl.
  3. Beat eggs, oil, vanilla, and sugar together in a large bowl. Add sifted ingredients to the creamed mixture, and beat well. Stir in zucchini and flax seeds until well combined. Pour batter into prepared pans.
  4. Bake for 45 to 60 minutes, or until tester inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in pan on rack for 20 minutes. Remove bread from pan, and completely cool.
2 responses

Leave a Reply

